Monday 16 May 2022

Official Languages Of India

Some Quiz Questions about the Official Languages of India

1. How many official languages does India now have? 

2. Which Schedule of the Indian Constitution lists the official languages? 

3. At the time of writing the Constitution of India, how many languages were mentioned?

4. Is Hindi the "National Language of India"? 

5. Is Hindi an official language of India?

6. Is English an official language of India?

7. How many classical languages are there in India?

8. Which was the last language to earn the classical language status?

9. Which was the first state of India to be formed on linguistic basis? 

10. In which year was the first state formed on the basis on language?

Do you know the answers to the above ten questions?


1. 22

2. 8th

3. 14

4. No

5. Yes

6. No

7. 6

8. Odia

9. Odisha

10. 1936

P.S- Answer-8- Yes, the spelling is Odia."Oriya" was changed to Odia in 2011.

Still, many are unaware.

Schedule 8 of the Indian Constitution – 22 Official Languages

There are 22 official languages in the 8th schedule of the Indian Constitution now. 

The following is the list of 22 languages:

of India
Spoken in the Indian StateYear of Recognition
BengaliWest  Bengal1950
HindiNorth India1950
KashmiriJammu & Kashmir1950
SanskritKarnataka (Shivamogga District)1950
TamilTamil Nadu1950
TeluguAndhra Pradesh, Telangana1950
UrduJammu & Kashmir, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh1950
SindhiRajasthan, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh1967
NepaliSikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh1992
BodoAssam and Meghalaya2004
DogriJammu and Himachal Pradesh2004
MaithiliBihar and Jharkhand2004
SanthaliWest Bengal, Jharkhand and Odisha2004


More details on the scheduled languages in India on the Indian Ministry of Home Affairs’ Department of Official Language Website.

How many answers did you get right in the Quiz? Please share.


  1. Good one! ... I didn't know the answers to most of the questions.
    Many people wrongly think that Hindi is our national language. We actually don't have a national language.
    (My latest post: Online games and the idea of beauty)

    1. Very true. People are misinformed about Hindi being the national language.
      There is so much to know and to learn about our Incredible India.

  2. I beg to differ with you on # 6. English is also an official language along with Hindi.

    1. English is not a part of the 8th Schedule of our Constitution.
      Q#6 is related to this only.
      The table given above lists 22 languages where English is not a part, though Nepali is.


Your words mean a lot to me.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...